Faculty & Staff Advisory Council

The John D. Calandra Italian American Institute of The City University of New York began as the Italian American Institute to Foster Higher Education.  In 1978, New York State Senator John D. Calandra, then chairperson of the Italian Legislative Caucus, called for the creation of an Italian-American institute to address historical, sociological, political, and cultural issues.  The New York conference of Italian-American State Legislators initially funded the Institution in 1979 to address the educational needs and concerns expressed by Italian-American students, faculty and staff at CUNY.  Eight years later, the Institute was renamed in honor of the late Senator John D. Calandra.  In 1995, the CUNY Board of Trustees officially designated the Institute as a university-wide research institute devoted to documenting and preserving the Italian-American experience, under the aegis of Queens College.

The Italian American Faculty and Staff Advisory Council has its origin with Chancellor Kibbee’s directive appointing chairpersons of Italian American advisory committees at each CUNY college.  The Council objectives are to advise the college presidents and Chancellor through the work of the Institute and its Dean on concerns affecting the University’s Italian American community and to safeguard accountability for Italian American personnel within the University.  Additionally, campus delegates articulate the needs of students, faculty and staff at the individual campuses and deliberate ways in which the Institute can address them.

To learn more about the Council, or to express your interest in becoming a campus delegate, contact Dr. Donna Chirico, Chair of the Italian American Faculty Staff Advisory Council, by telephone at 212-642-2010 or by email at dchirico@york.cuny.edu.

Executive Committee
Chair: Donna Chirico, York College
Vice Chair:  John Rose, Hunter College
Treasurer: Johanna Devaney, Brooklyn
Recording Secretary: TBD

Campus Delegates*

Antonietta Damelio
Angelo DiCuonzo

Tom Means
Patrizia Comello-Perry

Bronx Community
Giulia Guarnieri
Silvia Carlorosi

Johanna Devaney
Erika Farrell

Jan Valle
No alternate delegate

College of Staten Island
Paola Ureni
Enza Varia

CUNY Central
Roberta Garbarini-Philippe

CUNY Grad Center
Giancarlo Lombardi
Paolo Fasoli (Grad Center/Hunter)

Meghan Gilbert-Hickey
Anjelica Cappellino

Ernest Ialongo
No alternate delegate

John Rose
No alternate delegate

John Jay
Anthony Bracco
Richard Pusateri

Frank Percaccio
Bruno Gulli

Jerry G. Ianni
No alternate delegate

Law School
Karyn Manocchia
Mario Crescenzo

Alex Coller
Nicholas Boston

Medgar Evers
Cristina Migliaccio
Rebecca Fraley-Corrado

Murphy Institute
Michael Giliberti

New York City Tech
No campus delegate
No alternate delegate

Professional Studies
No campus delegate
No alternate delegate

Public Health
Meredith Manze
No alternate delegate

Annie Tummino
Stacey Romano

Victor Fichera
Michael DeMarco

Donna Chirico
No alternate delegate

Calandra Institute
Dean Anthony Tamburri, ex officio

*Not all campuses currently have representation.